Adding a User

To add a user

  1. On the Navigation Tree, click Rights and Privileges, and select Users.

  2. Click clip0002on the Users page. The User page containing the following items appears:

    • User Name: Enter a unique name of a new user. This name will be used as a logon name.

    • Full Name: This name will be displayed in all user lists and therefore must be unique. It is recommended that User Name NOT be the same as Full Name for security reasons.

    • Password: Type a password.

    • Confirm Password: Type the same password once again.

    • Network Alias: Select an Active Directory user name.

NOTE:  This field is available only if the security provider is set other than Default.

  • E-mail Address: Enter an e-mail address of the current user.

  • User ClassPersistent or Dynamic. This value is assigned automatically and displayed for reference only.

  • Locked: Select this check box, if you want to lock the current user and prevent their access to the system.

  • Privileges: By selecting check boxes, an administrator can grant the following privileges:

  • Administrator: Allows the user to log on to MSAdmin.

  • Automator Administrator: Allows the user full administration.

  • Automator User: Allows the user to manage processes and jobs.

    • Can Edit Scripts: Allows the user to edit process scripts and script items for Visual Processes and Standard Processes, as well as project scripts (i.e., PreProcess, PostProcess, and Global). If unselected, the user cannot edit the properties of script items for existing processes; the user can only run the script and check the results.

  • Automator Light User: Allows the user to partially manage processes and jobs.

    • Can Edit Schedules: Allows the user to add, edit, and delete schedules for Visual Processes and Standard Processes. Note that only the schedules whose processes are assigned to the user can be modified.

  • Members of: Click this heading to expand the hidden sections.

    • Available User Groups: Displays all available user groups from which you can select ones to assign the current user to. To add a user group, drag it from the left pane to the right pane.

    • Selected User Groups: The current user will be assigned to the user groups in this pane. To remove a user group, drag it from the right pane to the left pane.

    • Available Roles: Displays all available roles from which you can select ones to assign the current user to. To add a role, drag it from the left pane to the right pane.

    • Selected Roles: The current user will be assigned to the roles in this pane. To remove a role, drag it from the right pane to the left pane.

NOTE: The default user groups and roles available in the list of available user groups and roles for the new user are those specified in the New User Defaults settings in System Preferences under System Settings. See Groups and Roles.

  • Save: Click to save a new user and close the page.

  • Clear: Click to clear all the boxes.

  • Save/Edit: Click to save a new user and display additional tabs.

  • Cancel: Click to cancel the operation.

  • Copy Profile: Opens a dialog box, where you can select a user. All its settings will be copied. You can make the necessary changes.

  1. Fill in the boxes of the page, and click Save.
    The system saves the new user to the database and displays the updated Users page, if the operation is completed successfully.

NOTE: After you have created a user, you can assign access rights to it. For details refer to Assigning Access Rights.

 

(c) 2023 Altair Engineering Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Intellectual Property Rights Notice | Technical Support