Adding a User Group

To add a user group

  1. On the Navigation Tree, click Rights and Privileges, and select User Groups.

  2. Click clip0002on the User Groups page. The User Group page containing the following items appears:

    • User Group Name: Enter a unique name of a new user group.

    • Description: Optionally, enter any text defining the user group.

    • Alias: Active Directory group name. This field is filled out automatically if you apply user group importing.

NOTE:  Alias is only available when the Enable Active Directory Group Lookup checkbox in Active Directory is selected.

  • Privileges: By selecting check boxes, an administrator can grant the following privileges:

  • Administrator: Allows the user to log on to MSAdmin.

  • SubAdmin: Allows the user limited administration.

  • SaaS Administrator: Allows the user limited administration.

  • Portlets: Allows the user to view Panopticon Workbooks in MSClient.

  • Document Search: Allows the user to configure searches.

  • Save Search: Allows users to save searches that they created to the database.

  • Report search: Allows the user to search and view original reports.

  • Delete document: Allows the user to delete documents from the report warehouse.

  • Download Original Report: Allows the user to download the archive copy of reports.

  • Concatenate Original Reports: Allows users to download a number of original PDF reports as a single file.

  • Create annotation: Allows the user to annotate documents.

  • Create notification: Allows the user to create notifications.

  • See trustee list on save Annotation: Allows the user to view the list of trustees in the saved annotation report.

  • See trustee list on save Search: Allows the user to view the list of trustees in the saved search.

  • Add attachments on Annotations: Allows the user to add attachments to the annotation report.

  • Create Annotations for all users: Allows the user to create an annotation report accessible to all users.

  • Edit and delete Annotations: Allows the user to modify and remove annotations.

  • See Annotations: Allows the user to view the existing annotations.

  • Members: Click this heading to expand hidden sections.

    • Available User Groups: Displays all available user groups from which you can select ones to assign to the current role. To add a user group, drag it from the left pane to the right pane.

    • Selected User Groups: The user groups in this pane will be assigned to the current role. To remove a user group, drag it from the right pane to the left pane.

    • Available Users: Displays all available users from which you can select ones to assign to the current role. To add a user, drag it from the left pane to the right pane.

    • Selected Users: The users in this pane will be assigned to the current role. To remove a user, drag it from the right pane to the left pane.

  • Members of: Click this heading to expand the hidden sections.

    • Available User Groups: Displays all available user groups from which you can select ones to assign the current user to. To add a user group, drag it from the left pane to the right pane.

    • Selected User Groups: The current user will be assigned to the user groups in this pane. To remove a user group, drag it from the right pane to the left pane.

    • Available Roles: Displays all available roles from which you can select ones to assign the current user to. To add a role, drag it from the left pane to the right pane.

    • Selected Roles: The current user will be assigned to the roles in this pane. To remove a role, drag it from the right pane to the left pane.

NOTE: The default user groups and roles available in the list of available user groups and roles for the new user are those specified in the New User Defaults settings in System Preferences under System Settings. See Groups and Roles.

  • Save: Click to save a new user group and close the page.

  • Clear: Click to clear all the boxes.

  • Save/Edit: Click to save a new user group and display additional tabs.

  • Cancel: Click to cancel the operation.

  • Copy Profile: Opens a dialog box, where you can select a user group. All its settings will be copied. You can make the necessary changes.

  1. Fill in the boxes of the page and click Save. The system saves the new user group to the database and displays the updated User Groups page, if the operation is completed successfully.

NOTE:  After you have created a user group, you can assign access rights to it. For details refer to Assigning Access Rights.

 

(c) 2023 Altair Engineering Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Intellectual Property Rights Notice | Technical Support