Purging a First Copy Volume

When you purge a First Copy volume, the data it contains is removed. Only First Copy volumes can be purged (Second Copy volumes cannot be purged), and you can only purge a First Copy volume if the data it contains also resides on a Second Copy volume. (See Copying Data from a First Copy Volume to a Second Copy Volume for related information.)

NOTE: Purging a First Copy volume does not remove its files from the database. They are available for viewing and searching as usual.

To purge a First Copy volume

To purge a First Copy volume

  1. On the Navigation Tree, click Report Warehouse, then click Maintenance and select Maintenance Tasks.

  2. Click clip0002 on the Maintenance Tasks page. The Maintenance Task page appears.

  3. Configure a maintenance task, making sure to select the Purge option from the Task Type drop-down list.

  4. Click Save.

  5. On the Navigation Tree, click Report Warehouse, then click Maintenance and select Maintenance Processes.

  6. Click clip0002 on the Maintenance Processes page. The Maintenance Process page appears.

  7. Configure a maintenance process, making sure to assign the maintenance task you just created to it.

  8. Schedule the process to run, or run it manually by clicking Run Now on the Maintenance Process page.

When the process is executed, the maintenance task runs and the data purged from the First Copy volume.