Adding a Role

Roles allow you to quickly assign specific access rights and privileges to a user or user group. Because access rights and privileges in Monarch Server are cumulative, when you add a user or user group to a role, the user or user group members are granted the role's access rights and privileges in addition to their own.

To add a role

  1. On the Navigation Tree, click Rights and Privileges, and select Roles.

  2. Click clip0002 on the Roles page. The Role page containing the following items appears:

  • Role Name: Enter a unique name of a new role.

  • Description: Optionally, enter any text defining the role.

  • Privileges: By selecting check boxes, an administrator can grant the following privileges:

  • Administrator: Allows the user to log on to MSAdmin.

  • SubAdmin: Allows the user limited administration.

  • SaaS Administrator: Allows the user limited administration.

  • Portlets: Allows the user to view Panopticon Workbooks in MSClient.

  • Document Search: Allows the user to configure searches.

  • Save Search: Allows users to save searches that they created to the database.

  • Report search: Allows the user to search and view original reports.

  • Delete document: Allows the user to delete documents from the report warehouse.

  • Download Original Report: Allows the user to download the archive copy of reports.

  • Concatenate Original Reports: Allows users to download a number of original PDF reports as a single file.

  • Create annotation: Allows the user to annotate documents.

  • Create notification: Allows the user to create notifications.

  • See trustee list on save Annotation: Allows the user to view the list of trustees in the saved annotation report.

  • See trustee list on save Search: Allows the user to view the list of trustees in the saved search.

  • Add attachments on Annotations: Allows the user to add attachments to the annotation report.

  • Create Annotations for all users: Allows the user to create an annotation report accessible to all users.

  • Edit and delete Annotations: Allows the user to modify and remove annotations.

  • See Annotations: Allows the user to view the existing annotations.

  • Automator Administrator: Allows the user full administration.

  • Automator User: Allows the user to manage processes and jobs.

    • Can Edit Scripts: Allows the user to edit process scripts and script items for Visual Processes and Standard Processes, as well as project scripts (i.e., PreProcess, PostProcess, and Global). If unselected, the user cannot edit the properties of script items for existing processes; the user can only run the script and check the results.

  • Automator Light User: Allows the user to partially manage processes and jobs.

    • Can Edit Schedules: Allows the user to add, edit, and delete schedules for Visual Processes and Standard Processes. Note that only the schedules whose processes are assigned to the user can be modified.

  • RMS User: Allows the user to connect to RMS Client.

  • RMS Administrator: Allows the user to log on to RMSAdmin.

  • Members: Click this heading to expand hidden sections.

    • Available User Groups: Displays all available user groups from which you can select ones to assign to the current role. To add a user group, drag it from the left pane to the right pane.

    • Selected User Groups: The user groups in this pane will be assigned to the current role. To remove a user group, drag it from the right pane to the left pane.

    • Available Users: Displays all available users from which you can select ones to assign to the current role. To add a user, drag it from the left pane to the right pane.

    • Selected Users: The users in this pane will be assigned to the current role. To remove a user, drag it from the right pane to the left pane.

  • Save: Click to save a new role and close the page.

  • Clear: Click to clear all the boxes.

  • Save/Edit: Click to save a new role and display additional tabs.

  • Cancel: Click to cancel the operation.

  • Copy Profile: Opens a dialog box, where you can select a role. All its settings will be copied. You can make the necessary changes.

  1. Fill in the boxes of the page and click Save. The system saves the new role to the database and displays the updated Roles page, if the operation is completed successfully.

NOTE: After you have created a role, you can assign access rights to it. For details, see Assigning Access Rights.

 

(c) 2023 Altair Engineering Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Intellectual Property Rights Notice | Technical Support